Thursday, October 11, 2007

MCAMMP and our colleagues

MCAMMP, the Milwaukee County Avian Migration Monitoring Partnership, is finishing its fourth field season. Our research team of ten partners, interns, and 90+ volunteers just received the Citizen-based Monitoring Program of the Year Award at the CBM Network Conference in Merrimac, WI last Friday. Read more about MCAMMP here, and the Citizen-based Monitoring Network here.
The research team on the MCAMMP project is composed of some special people: Al Sherkow and Deb Hartman, husband-and-wife team from Riveredge NC, Tim Vargo, Research Coordinator and Sara Vondracheck from the Urban Ecology Center, Owen Boyle, Southeast Regional Ecologist from The Endangered Resources Bureau of the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Dr. Chris Guglielmo from the University of Western Ontario. Dr. Chris Lepczyk from the University of Hawaii at Manoa, Dr. Glen Fredlund of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, and Mark Feider from Milwaukee Audubon and the Ozaukee-Washington Land Trust. We also have some fabulous interns, who include Jenn Callaghan, Roz James, and Lynn Ratkowski. Lynn received a Citizen-based Monitoring Volunteer of the Year Award at the conference mentioned above.
A colleague of ours, Dr. Noel Cutright, received a Lifetime Achievement Award at this same conference. See more about Noel and some of his work here. Noel has contributed a massive amount of time on avian monitoring and conservation projects in Wisconsin and elsewhere for more than 30 years.
I'm proud to have all of these people as colleagues!

No comments: